Fathom 1990



Inside Cover



Gina M. Beaton
S.M. Webb (4)
S.A. Galliah (2)
Joe Blades (3)
Rick Armstrong
Timothy Dansdill
Louann M. R. Scallion
G.J. Munro
Laura L. Beaton
Edward W. N. Meers
Nick Lolordo (2)
Mike Butler
Lisa Michelle Fiander (2)


Yassarian King
Martin Doucette


H.A. Hutchinson


Editors’ Message

Welcome to Fathom. In post years, Dalhousie’s creative writing journal has consisted exclusively of poetry. This year, however, a number of prose works were submitted, a few of which we have included. Submissions to Fathom were encouragingly high. Selection has been difficult, but our choices, we hope, have resulted in a representative compilation.

Copies of this year’s edition have been sent to other universities. This exchange will promote links between writers and reader of different regions. Perpetuating a venue for writers not yet established is a worthwhile task and Fathom has been compiled with this in mind.

Fathom is supported by the Dalhousie Alumni Fund and we extend thanks to Dean Roland Smith for his support. The editorial comments and proofreading assistance of Dorothy Grace are appreciated. Thanks to H.A. Hutchinson for her artwork. And, special thanks to all who submitted their writing.

                              P.M. Fiander
                              D.J. Kitchen

Inquiries. comments, or both are welcome and may be directed to

                              c/o Dalhousie University
                              Department of English
                              Halifax. N S
                              B3H 3J5


last updated August 17, 2007 | © 2007 Fathom Publishing
poetry, prose, and artwork © individual authours | website created by Alana Paul